Please accept my Apologies

When I was single I thought that it was very interesting to watch other parents with their children. I had theories and thoughts about what to do in different situations. I also had many interesting conversations with different friends about how and what they were doing with their children.

Thomas the Train Engine

If you are reading this and these examples are you please accept my apologies. These examples that I am doing with my son are things that I either said I would not do or at the very least something that I was very critical of. I need to say this again. Please accept my apologies!

Leaving your son to play with a diaper

Example 1: Watching Television/Films/Videos. We have found that it is advantageous for James to be watching TV while he is eating at times. We do not always do this but it is something we have done from time to time so that James does not scream or so that he is a little calmer.

Cry it Out

Example 2: Letting your kid get away with things. We as parents have found that we need to pick and choose our battles. It is not to say that we don’t discipline James but that we can’t react to every single time that he reacts poorly. We have suffered by listening to James scream for over an hour and a half at times.

Time to Sleep More

Example 3: Bringing your kid into your bed. There are times that James does not sleep well or that he wakes up very early and I am guilty of bringing him into our bed to try and get another 30+ minutes of sleep.

If I think more I would come up with other examples. However I just want to publicly apologize to everyone who I have offended while I was single.

4 thoughts on “Please accept my Apologies

  1. Apologies accepted. However, when one hasn’t walked in another’s shoes…
    We are all God’s image bearers, but we are “fearfully + wonderfully ” made with different gifts and temperaments. Each new life is an unwrapped gift to be discovered and revealed and cherished. So glad you and Tati are enjoying the gift. You were chosen as James’ parents. Love and prayers, Auntie Carolyn

  2. Haha. Not laughing at you, laughing with you. We’ve all been there brother. I was not going to “allow” whining and certainly never give into whining. All behaviors could be corrected with firm discipline. And TV and sugar would never be used as bribes. Jokes on me. Parenting is so much more fluid and in need of moment-by-moment grace and wisdom. Sometimes we get it right, sometimes we don’t, but God’s grace is sufficient for it all.

  3. Ben,

    I appreciate your humility here (I do not think you ever communicated any of that to me). It is a challenging/trying time navigating the parenting waters. Praying for you guys!!

    On Wed, May 19, 2021 at 10:05 AM Benjamin’s Burden wrote:

    > Benjamin posted: ” When I was single I thought that it was very > interesting to watch other parents with their children. I had theories and > thoughts about what to do in different situations. I also had many > interesting conversations with different friends about how and wh” >

Leave a comment