Bonsai!!!

I have wanted to purchase a Bonsai tree for the last 20+ years.  I have enjoyed looking at different Bonsai trees over the years.  I used to think about stopping to purchase a tree during college when I saw the Bonsai guy while driving home but I never stopped to purchase a tree.  Over the years of moving I determined not to purchase a tree because I never had a place to in my apartments.

Bonzi

Many Plants to Choose from

Once I arrived in Brazil I saw a sign for Bonsai trees along the road side and determined to purchase one.  One day I stopped by and there was no worker at the roadside Bonsai stand.  A few weeks later I was talking with a friend and he said that he wanted to purchase a Bonsai tree also.  We made arrangements to go together to purchase trees.  I looked at many different tree options to purchase.  Once I narrowed down the type of tree that I wanted, I then had to determine the age of the tree to purchase.

Bonzi 1

40 year old Bonsai

The Bonsai pictured above is a 40 year old tree that is similar to the one that I ended up purchasing.  It is actually in the private collection of the owner.  I thought that the root ball and bark looked really cool.  I ended up purchasing a tree that is only 15 years old and has red flowers during the fall each year.  I really like the bark, root ball, branches and the red flowers that are characteristic of this tree.  One day I hope to see this tree at 30 years old.

Bonzi 2

My Bonsai

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bonsai!!!

  1. What a neat tree! Jack has always loved bonsaies also. We had one of his for a very long time but sorry to say we no longer have it. I think we lost it in our house fire, sounds like your new apartment is really coming along, I like your new drapes in your picture.

  2. Cool, Benjamin. There is a bonsai exhibit at the Huntington in Pasadena featuring REALLY old bonsai trees – many of them are human sized or bigger plants. They are fascinating. Enjoy. I’m glad you and a buddy went together – more opportunity to share the language and similar pursuits. Auntie Carollyn

Leave a Reply

