4th of July in Brazil

The Fourth of July has always been about spending times with friends and enjoying a celebration of the freedom that we enjoy in the United States.  I think that I have almost always been in the states to celebrate.  This year I celebrated in Brazil.  I would say that the thing that I missed the most was the lack of fire works.

4th

Rehydrating beans for Chili

It was my responsibility to make the chili for the party.  This was the first time that I made chili without using canned beans.  I was surprised at how much moisture the beans soaked up when rehydrating them.  I also struggled with not having the normal spices that I would use to make chili so I had to make due with the spices that I had.  I was very pleased with the results.  The chili not only tasted like chili and my house smelled like chili, which was awesome.

4th 2

Crock Pot Chili

I celebrated the 4th of July at the Hangout.  We made chili, cornbread, and apple pie.  It turned out to be a great party.  Many of the Brazilians enjoyed the American food and it was the happening place to celebrate.

4th 4

Fourth of July at The Hangout

Playing games is a normal part of being at the Hangout and the 4th of July was not an exception.

4th 5

Game Time

 

 

2 thoughts on “4th of July in Brazil

  1. What a great opportunity to share your culture with those whose culture you are learning. It’s also amazing to be able to craft a recipe using the ingredients at hand and be successful. Yeh!
    Some of my distinct memories of July 4th have been out of California as well as out of the US. In college I was in Florence, Italy, and the Italian orchestra put on an evening concert of American patriotic music outdoors. Special.
    Uncle Don + I were aboard ship for both Canada Day + July 4th one year. We actually celebrated July 4th just after midnite of July 3rd in Juneau. Residents of Juneau walked down the rocky beach on one side of the inlet + built bonfires. They had their picnics/bbqs as the sun was setting. + sat waiting by the bonfires. Finally, when the sun had set sufficiently + it was the 4th, the city set off a terrific fireworks display which we enjoyed from the docked ship before sailing at 1am.
    Another summer we were in Maui and we lay on the beach and watched fireworks at 10pm. It was a glorious evening.
    I agree with you, Benjamin; the fireworks are the best! Love and prayers, Auntie Carolyn

  2. to each his own, fireworks are no longer my favorite part of July 4th. Ever since Holly became part of our family. fireworks, freak her out and she shakes and her little heart pounds. this year in Sacramento there is such an abundance of illegal fireworks that calling the police was mostly unsuccessful as they were so busy taking calls about them. I do enjoy sitting at a ballgame and watching fireworks that explode in the sky but don’t have all the whistles and firecracker noises.

Leave a Reply

