Culture Shock: Battle for Control

I still battling culture shock on many different fronts.  One of the fronts which I have seen the war rage is that of control.  When I first arrived in Brazil I was warned by other missionaries that control would be one of the areas that I struggled.  I have strived in my life to be under control in many ways.  It actually scares me to not be in control.  In Brazil I am not in control in many ways.

food 1

Cheese Stuffed Bacon Avocado Burger

The lack of control has been difficult to deal with.  I find myself complaining when I am not able to control the situation.

food 2

Grilled Chicken and Pad Thai

I am able to control what I eat when I cook the food.  It is good to be able to cook different kinds of food that feel like eating.  I really enjoy using all of the fresh ingredients and great meat which are available around here.  The only draw back for all of this cooking is that I have to do all of the cleanup after cooking.

food 3

Steak with Bell Peppers and Onions

As I battle culture shock by exerting control I am continually reminded that I need to trust that the LORD is in control even when I am not.  I have found myself thinking of Proverbs 3:5-6 continually and trusting in the LORD to work everything out.  I am also thinking lots about Romans 8:28 where simple truths are presented that are a great comfort to me.  The truths which bring me comfort are “God is actively at work,” “God is working these events together for good,” and “God has made a plan.”

food

Chicken Fritters and Rice

One thought on “Culture Shock: Battle for Control

  1. Your food pictures look yummy, Benjamin. Clean up is just clean up – it is what it is, and it never goes away (unless we eat out/elsewhere). I’m glad you were informed before you went to Brazil about some of the enculturation and especially control issues. We who love being in control have special challenges, especially in light of the fact that God is the One in control. You are being stretched in your faith. It’s a good thing, actually; it is also a life long challenge. At age 65, I am still learning, but I am happy to be God’s daughter. Have a great week, Benjamin. Auntie Carolyn

Leave a Reply

