Officially Rare!

For most of my life I have been told that I am rare or unique.  I have a few things that I would say are unique to me. One of the easiest things is that I am 6’7″ tall.  This means that with an average height of a man in the US being 5’10” and a standard deviation of 3 that I am 3 standard deviations away from average.  This means that I am a rare guy.

A couple of months ago I noticed something growing under my beard.  I had thought that it would simply go away but it didn’t.  I went into the doctor’s and had it checked out.  They took a biopsy of the growth and it came back as Hidradenoma (Acrospiroma) with  Atypia.  I was very concerned that this might be cancerous but it came back clear.

Surgery

It just kept growing

I then made an appointment with a dermatologist to have it removed.  When he saw the growth and the results of the biopsy he was excited.  He said that I am a very rare guy.  This confirmed my own thoughts that I am unique.  He said that he had not seen this type of growth in many years.  He told me that it was a sweat gland growth issue.  The doctor removed it and sent it away to be tested again.

Surgery 1

It has been removed

Thankfully the results of the retest were the same and that I should only have a little scar near my beard line.  I am very thankful that I was able to get this taken care of quickly.  I am also very encouraged to now have more definitive proof of how rare I am.

Surgery 2

All stitched up

One thought on “Officially Rare!

  1. Ewww!!! Benjamin!! Have a great trip. I’ll be praying for you 🙂 Donna Henderson

    From: Benjamins Burden To: bidobrikim@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, July 4, 2016 3:15 AM Subject: [New post] Officially Rare! #yiv0608003528 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0608003528 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0608003528 a.yiv0608003528primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0608003528 a.yiv0608003528primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0608003528 a.yiv0608003528primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0608003528 a.yiv0608003528primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0608003528 WordPress.com | Benjamin posted: “For most of my life I have been told that I am rare or unique.  I have a few things that I would say are unique to me. One of the easiest things is that I am 6’7″ tall.  This means that with an average height of a man in the US being 5’10” and a standard ” | |

Leave a Reply

